Build a cat gallery web application - Part 1

Build a cat gallery web application - Part 1

A lot of developers recommend using a project-based approach for learning because, with this approach, you learn to be creative and innovative in coming up with solutions to problems encountered while building a project. Plus it is easier to remember concepts that are applied to real-life problems.

Consequently, I thought of creating a cat gallery web application with my primary aim being to learn and practice HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

Documenting this project is also important to me so that I could get a feel of how much progress I will be making throughout the process. I will write about my progress with the #100DaysOfCode challenge on Twitter and in my blog under the Build with Me series.

If you are interested in building your cat gallery application or any project at all (with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript), then follow along and create with me. I believe there's going to be quite a lot to learn.

In this article, we'll see how and why I decided on this project, how the application should work and how I'll proceed in building the project.

Why I decided to build this project

Well it's simple ... I ❤️ CATS!!

🙃But I do not own a cat yet so I feed off cute cat photos from the internet. Cannot wait to have my cat😻 by the way.

This project conforms to my interests which is cool because it will keep me consistently working on the project.

You can get a lot of cool projects by searching on the internet or you could think of your project. Just make sure it fits into your interests for starters so that you are having fun while building it and there will be a greater chance of you finishing it.

How exactly is this application going to work?

The application will somehow be similar to Pinterest but just for the cats. On this application, I should be able to:

  • Create my user account
  • Sign in to my account
  • View cat photos
  • Search cats according to criteria like their race, name, and color
  • Save photos to my account
  • Upload photos to the app
  • Like an uploaded photo
  • View my profile information

How will I proceed in building the project?

For this project, I will be going with the mobile-first design approach.

I think the mobile-first approach fits this project as most users of a gallery-type application will prefer to access the app through their mobile.

Also, I took it as a challenge to add colors and fonts to the styling when most of the user interfaces have been created. Just the colors white, black, and grey will be used in the project for the moment.

😅I do not trust myself. I can spend the time I'll normally use to finish the entirety of the project on finding that "perfect color or font". 🙂 I have learned my lessons.

Thanks for reading!

We have come to the end of this article.😊 I am extremely excited to work on this project.

In Part 2 of this article..🥳I am going to start simple, with the creation of the user interfaces for the sign-in and sign-up pages of the app.

This is my first article, I appreciate you for taking out time to read this far. Please feel free to leave a review in the comment section.